The CESS Public Outreach Award 2017


The CESS Public Outreach Award is presented to an individual, a group of individuals or an organization in recognition for extraordinary work that contributes to advancing and making accessible knowledge of Central Eurasia to a broad audience. The award is accompanied by a monetary prize of $500.

An interdisciplinary panel of three scholars of Central Eurasia—appointed by the CESS Executive Board—will consider the nominations for the Public Outreach Award on grounds of the accessibility and impact of the contribution in service (broadly defined) to the field of Central Eurasian Studies.  Normally, the committee will consider submissions and present the award every other year, unless there are no nominations that merit recognition. 

The 2017 award committee is: Amanda Wooden (Bucknell University), Regine Spector (U-Mass Amherst), and Jeanne Féaux de la Croix (Tübingen University). 

Guidelines for the competition are as follows:

  • Monographs, edited volumes, audio-visual material, news/blog sites, films, documentaries, and similar resources that are extraordinarily useful in educating non-specialists about Central Eurasia are eligible for consideration. Single articles, news stories, blog posts, or travel guides are not eligible. Materials must have been produced, published, or disseminated in the two (2) years preceding the award deadline.
  • Nominations may be made by the producer of the material or someone who has used the material and found it useful. In all cases, nominations should include a description of how the material constitutes Public Outreach and, when relevant, three copies of the nominated material must be received by the published deadline of the competition.
  • Individuals and organizations need not be members of CESS to be nominated, but must become members by the nomination deadline to be considered.

Questions can be emailed to with the subject line, CESS Public Outreach Award Committee. Materials relevant to the nomination of the Public Outreach Award should be received by June 30, 2017, at the following three addresses:

  1. Amanda Wooden, 332 Academic West, Bucknell University, Lewisburg, PA 17837, USA
  2. Jeanne Féaux de la Croix, Raum 134, Asien-Orient-Institut, Abteilung Ethnologie, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, Burgsteige 11, Schloss Hohentübingen, D-72070 Tübingen, Germany
  3. Regine Spector, Department of Political Science, Thompson Hall, 200 Hicks Way
    Amherst, MA 01003, USA

N.B.  Nominations for the Public Outreach Award will be taken in odd-numbered years, as determined by the selection committee.  The selection committee will announce the given award at the following CESS Annual Meeting, if the committee determines that the nomination pool meets the standards that it has set. If the pool does not meet standards, the award will not be given in that cycle, and nominations will again be taken in two years' time.

N.B.  Nominations for the Public Outreach Award are only eligible for one competition cycle.

Recipients of the Public Service Award


The Central Eurasian Scholars and Media Initiative (CESMI).

Honorable mention was given to Storyscapes Osh.